Skip to main content
Procore (en-GB)

Configure Access and Settings for the Conversations Tool (Beta)

Objective

To configure access and features for the Conversations tool in Procore.

Things to Consider

  • Required User Permissions:
    • 'Admin' level permission to the Company level Admin tool.

Steps

  1. Navigate to the Company level Admin tool. 
  2. Under 'Company Settings', click Conversations.
  3. Configure settings for your company in the sections below:

Configure Access for Conversations

  1. Click the Enable Conversations toggle ON to enable the Conversations tool for one or more projects.
    conversations-access-settings.png
  2. Choose whether you want to allow all users in the Directory to access Conversations or only those marked as internal employees:
    Note: Users are considered internal employees of your company if the 'Is Employee of [Company Name]' setting is marked for their user account in the Company level Directory tool. See How do I add someone as an employee of my company?
    • Any user in the Company level Directory: Select if you want to allow internal and external users to be able to use the Conversations tool to communicate in a project.
    • Only internal employees of [Company Name]: Select if you only want internal employees of your company to be able to use the Conversations tool to communicate in a project.
  3. Under 'Enable Conversations on the selected projects', mark the tickbox next to each project that you want to enable the Conversations beta on.
    Tip! Use the Search bar to quickly find projects if necessary.
  4. Click Save Changes.
    This adds the Conversations icon-conversations.png icon to the Procore header to provide access the tool.

Configure Features for Conversations

  1. On the Features tab, click the toggle ON or OFF to configure which features you want available and for which users:
    Note: These features are turned on by default.
    conversations-features-settings.png
    • Direct Messages: This feature allows private messages to be sent from one individual to another. Direct Messages can be sent to multiple individuals.
      • If enabled, select one of the following options:
        • Any user in the Company level Directory
        • Only internal employees of [Company Name]
    • Edit/Delete: If enabled, an individual can edit or delete their own message within five (5) minutes of sending it. Edited messages have 'edited' text underneath them and deleted messages show who deleted the message and when.
      • If enabled, select one of the following options:
        • Any user in the Company level Directory
        • Only internal employees of [Company Name]
  2. Click Save Changes.