Skip to main content
Procore (en-GB)

Configure Advanced Settings: Correspondence

Objective

To configure advanced settings for the Correspondence tool.

Background

You can use the advanced settings in the project's Correspondence tool to configure settings for each correspondence type, such as to add and remove status types. This is also where you can view the Permissions Table for a correspondence type.

Things to Consider

  • Required User Permissions:
    • To configure settings on the Tab Settings page:
      • 'Admin' level permissions on the correspondence type to be configured.
    • To configure settings on the User Permissions page:
      • 'Admin' level permissions on the correspondence type to be configured.
        AND
      • 'Admin' level permissions on the Project level Directory tool.

Steps

Tab Settings

  1. Navigate to the project's Correspondence tool.
  2. Click the Configure Settings  icon and select the correspondence type you want to configure settings for.
  3. Click Tab Settings in the sidebar.
  4. Complete the following as necessary for your project:
    Note: Users who create or edit a correspondence item using this correspondence type can change the Distribution, Due Date and Description fields for individual items.
    • Enable Email Reminders for Overdue Items: Mark this checkbox if you want Procore to send automatic email reminders to assignees when an item they are assigned to is overdue.
    • Default Distribution: Select one or more users or distribution groups from the drop-down menu. Click the  icon next to a user's name if you want to remove them from this list.
      Note: Users must have 'Read Only' level permissions or higher on the correspondence type to be added to this list. See Grant Granular Permissions in a Project Permissions Template.
    • Responses will be due: Enter a number for the default working days after which a response will be due.
    • Default Description: Enter a default description to add to items created using this correspondence type.

      correspondence-configure-settings-type-settings.png
       
  5. Click Update to save your changes.

Statuses

  1. On the Tab Settings page, scroll to the Statuses section.

    correspondence-configure-settings-type-statuses.png
     
  2. To add a new status, enter a name for the status in the Add New Status field and click Add Status.
    Notes: 
    • Any items created or edited using statuses added here are considered 'Open'.
    • Email notifications are sent for all correspondence items until their status is changed to 'Closed'.
  3. To delete a status, click Delete Status next to the status you want to delete.
    Note: 'Global Statuses' (Open, Closed, and Draft) cannot be deleted.

Permissions Table 

  1. Navigate to the project's Correspondence tool.
  2. Click the Configure Settings  icon and select the correspondence type you want to view user permissions for.
  3. Click Permissions Table in the sidebar.
    The User Permissions table displays for the correspondence type.
    • The green checkmark green-check.png icon indicates the permission level the user has been granted on the correspondence type: 'None', 'Read Only', 'Standard', or 'Admin'.
    • The red red-x.png icon indicates which permission levels are not assigned to the user.
    • The gray  icon indicates which permission levels are not assigned to the user and cannot currently be changed since the user has been assigned a project permissions template. To change their permissions in the Project level Directory tool, see Change a User's Permissions in the Project Directory.
       Tip
      See User Permissions Matrix - Web and User Permission Matrix - Mobile for more information about the different actions that can be performed by users with the permission level you select.
  4. To change a user's permission level on the correspondence type when they do not have a project permissions template assigned, click the red red-x.png icon for the permission level you want to grant to the user.
    The red red-x.png icon is replaced with green checkmark green-check.png icon and the user's permission level to the correspondence type is automatically saved.

See Also