Skip to main content
Procore (en-GB)

Permissions

Conversations

The following table highlights which user permissions are required to perform the described user action. Click the Mobile Platform icons in the table to navigate to the relevant support articles.

Note: The Conversations tool does not have its own set of permissions to assign and instead relies on users being part of a project's Directory and having access to items within that project. See the notes below the table for specific considerations.


Task
Permissions Mobile Platform
None Read Only Standard Admin iOS Android
Edit or Delete a Message in the Conversations Tool (iOS)   icon-mindtouch-table-check.png 1 icon-mindtouch-table-check.png 1 icon-mindtouch-table-check.png 1 icon-apple-logo.png   icon-android-logo.png
Manage Push Notifications for the Conversations Tool (iOS)   icon-mindtouch-table-check.png 1 icon-mindtouch-table-check.png 1 icon-mindtouch-table-check.png 1 icon-apple-logo.png   icon-android-logo.png
Mention a User in a Conversation (iOS)   icon-mindtouch-table-check.png 1 icon-mindtouch-table-check.png 1 icon-mindtouch-table-check.png 1 icon-apple-logo.png   icon-android-logo.png
Reply to a Message in a Thread within a Conversation (iOS)   icon-mindtouch-table-check.png 1 icon-mindtouch-table-check.png 1 icon-mindtouch-table-check.png 1 icon-apple-logo.png   icon-android-logo.png 
Send a Message in the Conversations Tool (iOS)   icon-mindtouch-table-check.png 1 icon-mindtouch-table-check.png 1 icon-mindtouch-table-check.png 1   icon-apple-logo.png   icon-android-logo.png
View Messages in the Conversations Tool (iOS)   icon-mindtouch-table-check.png 1 icon-mindtouch-table-check.png 1 icon-mindtouch-table-check.png 1 icon-apple-logo.png icon-android-logo.png
View Threaded Replies within a Conversation (iOS)   icon-mindtouch-table-check.png 1 icon-mindtouch-table-check.png 1 icon-mindtouch-table-check.png 1 icon-apple-logo.png icon-android-logo.png


1  This action can be performed by any user in the project's Directory (for their own conversations and items that they have access to). See the specific considerations below:

  • Direct Messages:
    • If Direct Messages are enabled for the account, anyone in the project's Directory (and Company Admins) can be messaged or mentioned.
    • If Direct Messages are only enabled for internal employees, only users marked as employees of the company can be messaged or mentioned. See How do I add someone as an employee of my company?
    • Direct messages are private and can only be seen by the individuals in the message. Admin users cannot view direct messages that they are not a part of.
      Note: A data export containing direct messages can be provided to Company Admins by Procore Support if needed.
  • Group Conversations:
    • Anyone in the project's Directory (and Company Admins) can be messaged or mentioned in a group.
    • Messages within a group conversation can only be seen by members of that group. 
  • Item Conversations:
    • Conversations for specific items in a project can only be viewed and participated in by users with access to the item in Procore ('Read Only' or higher permissions to the item's tool and appropriate access if an item is marked as Private).
  • All conversations:
    • Users can only message or mention users who exist in the project's Directory, as well as Company Admins.
    • Users can only edit and delete their own messages (within 5 minutes of sending and if the feature is enabled).
    • Users can only hide a conversation from their own view.